“In all the things I wish I’d wrote…”

October 6, 2009

Lately I’ve become slightly obsessed with googling quotes.  For some reason I feel like finding proof that other people have experienced what I’m feeling now. And I guess I want to see if they can phrase it better than me.  They usually do.  Except, annoyingly, I don’t feel any better or more fulfilled after I find the right philosophical reference.  None of them tell me what to do next.  It sucks.

Either way, here are some that I like:

“Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art… It has no survival value; rather it is one of those things that give value to survival.” -C .S. Lewis

“I value the friend who for me finds time on his calendar, but I cherish the friend who for me does not consult his calendar.” –Robert Brault

“All change is not growth, as all movement is not forward.” –Ellen Glasgow

“Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent.” – Victor Hugo

“None are so old as those who have outlived enthusiasm.” –Henry David Thoreau

Favorite:

“Some stories are true that never happened.” –Elie Wiesel

"Before you gave me your sweater, I don't think I realized I was cold."

"Before you gave me your sweater, I don't think I realized I was cold."

Leave a comment